A Sad Day for America

I just got back from hanging out with a group of international students. They were all quite nice, and fun, but man, is there a lot of anti-American sentiment out there, from people all over Europe. It’s very disheartening and makes me feel sad.
Anyone care to contribute a specific story or statistic of something great that America or an American you know has done recently? Or something historical that’s maybe been overlooked? I’d appreciate it, and you can be sure it would be (tactfully) passed along…

4 comments on “A Sad Day for America

  1. Betsy Batstone-Cunningham says:

    Well, Amy, you are an American. Just show them how great, nice, and hard working you are and hope that they change their minds just a bit.

  2. Cindy Peterson says:

    Hi Amy,

    Matthew (I think he graduated with you) has been living in Sweden for a majority of the past three years and the two of you might be able to have a conversation about the anti-American sentiment in Europe. He is now in Indiana, but will be marrying a young woman from Sweden next summer. I think it’s sad, too, because America is such a big country and the people who are saying anti-American things have not met so many of us! (We North Dakotans are known to be quite nice!) I think all that you can do is be yourself and not feel that you need to defend the entire country. They will learn from knowing you that they cannot judge an entire country of people based on political policies that they don’t like. Congratulations on what will be a wonderful experience for you. Cindy Peterson

    • amyuthus says:

      Betsy, Cindy,
      This is good advice – I tried reasoning with some people yesterday but my words didn’t really seem to make much of a difference to their overall opinion of our country. It’s frustrating for me to hear that we need to “mind our own business,” because they say it so generally – that all of us should just stay at home, all of the time. But what would they really think if we did that (which would include pulling all of our humanitarian aid, from all over the world)? It makes me really mad. So I think I’ll try to avoid politics in all conversations here. Then I think we should be able to get along just fine!

  3. Jackie says:

    HI, Amy,
    I had the same experience when I worked in Norway for 3 months…they hated the fact that I was there taking a job away from a young Norwegian person. Anyway, remember to be nice to the nice girl and leave your political frustrations in your work! Make friends and they at least will respect one American!
    love, mom

Leave a Reply

