Kites in the Cornfield

Here I sit, surrounded by thesis papers, notebooks, and research texts, with my watch tick-tick-ticking away in the pocket of my black fleece.  I just finished Skype-ing (Skyping?) with my mom and dad, my oldest sister, and two of my nieces.  Before that, I spent a solid 8 hours reading, writing, and researching.  I got about four pages of single-spaced text tapped out and sent to the professor who’s overseeing my writing.  I hope some of it’s usable!

It was really fun to see my family (part of it, anyway!) tonight.  I heard all about Sunday school; then kite flying and how kites escaped to the cornfields and the roof, only to be rescued, along with their support rods, which were found in the ‘gwass;’ I saw an American girl doll and several accessories, of which my eldest niece is the proud new owner; her younger sister had on a fancy new dress from Grandma, but no, it was not a princess dress; my nephew was in the midst of tantrum when the call started – he was promptly sent to bed, where it appeared another peep was not made.

Noses were picked, screen to screen; oreo-esque cookies were fed from Hungary to Minnesota, where they were promptly “gobbled up.”  I was asked what I had for supper, and when I responded ‘cookies,’ there was a quick moment of silence.  I asked: but guess what else I have here to eat?  My niece’s response: Something good for you.  Nope!  Try again – it was a bar of chocolate.

Tomorrow my saggers will be out of the bisque, as well as one test tile cast in Herund porcelain.  I have 12 tiles waiting, so I hope to find some sawdust to fill the saggers and a partner to help fill the smallest gas kiln.

Maybe this will be the Week of the Pen Store.  Only time will tell!  Dun dun dunn.  Off to eat some real food!

13 comments on “Kites in the Cornfield

  1. kate says:

    miss amy-
    you are now prominently displayed on my fridge! i miss you bunches! you’re plants are keeping my company though. i’m sorry to say i’m not terribly surprised by the anti-american sentiment…. we haven’t been that awesome a nation for a little bit now BUT i did find you a fun fact In 1919, Boston had a molasses disaster. 2 million gallons of crude molasses burst from a tank and pushed its way through the neighborhood and city. It killed at least 21 people and took weeks to clean up. us. yankees are crazy. AND Calvin Coolidge had 2 pet racoons. i hope that helps! miss you lady! ❤

    • amyuthus says:

      What’s on your fridge? And raccoons? Really? Yuck! Thanks for caring for the plants! Did you find your wedding gift yet?

      • kate says:

        lauren gave me the pictures you left for chris and i. it’s the pic of you and chris at the last ifc meeting! totally awesome! and no i haven’t found my wedding gift yet, i’m gonna have to go a huntin’!

      • amyuthus says:

        I see- glad you liked them! Lauren might have scrounged your gift already, I’m not sure. At any rate, don’t open it til the wedding!

  2. Jen says:

    Fun to talk to you too, Amy! We should do it again soon!

  3. Jen says:

    Did you finally have some good for you for supper?

  4. Jackie says:

    I think your written rendition of our conversation was, perhaps, more interesting than the actual conversation! Remember to be nice to the nice girl! Love, mom

  5. Julie Fedorchak says:

    Hi Amy — I like to think of you guys picking your noses and eating oreos on Skype. Now that’s quality family time. I just hope you didn’t combine the two activities!

    I hope you quietly resist the European anti-American sentitment. Is our country perfect? Far from it! But there probably wouldn’t be a free Hungary or free Europe for that matter without America. Tens of thousands of Americans — strong, brave, young AMericans with their whole future in front of them — shipped over to Europe and died there on behalf of freedom and humanity. With all our faults, we are still the most decent, open, generous, compassionate and humanitarian country on Earth. When people flee from dictators, they take refuge in America. If America fell and people here needed to take refuge somewhere, where would we turn? Absent America, would there be a stable democracy left on this planet? Something to ponder… Soak it in Amy!!

    • amyuthus says:

      Of course we didn’t combine them! We’re not that gross… 😉
      I did try some reminders about WWII – they went over like a lead balloon. Sigh. If it comes up again, I’m sure I’ll be compelled to speak up. I have a hard time keeping my mouth shut.

  6. Deb Kaul says:

    Hi Amy! I enjoyed opening your blog and reading a few of your entries this morning. It sounds like you are doing well and making some good connections. I’m really proud of you, Amy, and hope you find encouragement in your work and strength in your independence there. You are a wonderful young woman and artist…keep it up! Love to you.

Leave a Reply

