Here are some pictures from the weekend!  It’s Johanna’s birthday today.  She and Rebecca had a party yesterday at their apartment with several international students.  Johanna’s from Finland and Rebecca’s from Ireland.  Have I said that before?  Sorry.  They’re both here through the Erasmus Programme.  Anyway, Johanna graciously invited me to celebrate with her 🙂

Birthday girls

Me, Johanna, cake by Johanna (the # is the total of our years - 28 & 24)

Earlier in the day, Meredith and I walked to what’s proving to be an elusive thrift store – It was closed again, this time due to their changing out the stock.  (We only know this because a young Hungarian guy took pity on us standing confusedly next to the locked door and translated the sign for us.)  So, we went for birthday cake and ice cream instead.  Yum!  These nicely sized cubes of heavenliness cost between $0.70 and $1.16.

Birthday cake - it was custard-y deliciousness! Thanks, Meredith!

birthday treats

Birthday cake and ice cream with Meredith

3 comments on “

  1. Jackie says:

    Oh, this looks totally delicious! Who even cares if the meat is awful when the sweet stuff is SO sweet!

    • amyuthus says:

      Yeah, the pastries here are awesome! I think I’m going to have to start eating a piece of cake or a face-sized croissant every day. My pants don’t fit anymore (too big)! And, they don’t have peanut butter (in response to your question on ‘If I Die Tomorrow…’). I asked Merci and Bette about it and they’d never heard of it before. I told them I’d bring some back from the US and they’re excited to try it.

  2. […] of California’s former governor.  I don’t quite remember how it came up, but at the birthday party on Saturday night, I happened to say his name, and everyone around me said, “Whaaat??  Say […]

Leave a Reply

