Scribing My Procrastination: Shakespearean-Style

Well.

Midterm next week + statement to committee due tomorrow = birth of this time-consuming post.

Let us review these last few days in verse.

Oct. 10: A kiln! “Twas loaded snugly this cold morn.

11: Said kiln was lit and run while off ran I,

America-bound, a wedding to see.

12: Deep sleep one shouldn’t seek in Heathrow’s lounge;

but hugs abound when plane lands down in time

for wedding, showers, wine, and ropes course fun.

13-16: See twelve above with cow-boy boots and smiles.

17: To sleep, oh blessed sleep; eighteen hours is

just enough to sate this tired body,

and when it’s done more tiles to make and words

to write which stay unwrit,’ locked in fingers

frozen o’er keyboard mine, unsure of their

paths, lacking guidance. Whisp’ring, “Tomorrow

we will know which keys to press, as if by

magic, you’ll see. Pouring out by tens and

twenties, the words will come, you’ll see, you’ll see.”

18/19: They lie! These digits lie! The words don’t come.

And here sit I, with kiln alight once more.

The fingers fly, and words come ‘cross the screen,

but not the necessary words, oh no.

Those hide and wait for fear’s increase of strength.

until perhaps water hot and steaming

will shower away their dams of scheming?


6 comments on “Scribing My Procrastination: Shakespearean-Style

  1. Jackie says:

    You are a poet…did you know it? Love you, mom

  2. so you’re going to do that thesis in haiku, then? lol. i have some more commentary on what you sent me. i will send it soon! ❤

    • amyuthus says:

      Hehehe. 🙂 Thanks for reading my stuff. I think I’m not going to use any of those pages from the 1st doc. I re-read it and I don’t think it’s necessary. Do you? I guess I should just wait to get your comments!!

  3. Sara J says:

    how clever!

  4. Jen says:

    Gosh, I’m feeling dumb. How long did it take you to write that??

    • amyuthus says:

      I think I’d better not say, JIC one of my profs reads this…
      Naw – it took probably an hour and a half. I didn’t time it but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t any longer than that.
      PS You’re not dumb.

Leave a Reply

