ICS installation, round 1

With the help of a very nice woman in the casting concrete class, I raised my tiles off the floor into a vertical position this evening.  It was SCARY!  Next time I’m laying them all out on a piece of plywood or sheetrock that can just be tilted into position and then removed after the hanging wires are in place.  I did it the stupid way, by lifting it from the support rods on the back one section at a time, about 6″-1′ at a time, then readusting the line connecting it to the steel cables above.  It was slow and there were lots of bad noises, but it worked, so I’m really happy.  I’m pleased with how they look in the space.  I was originally going to pull the tip of the triangle back toward the far wall so that the entire piece is at a slant, but I decided to wait to do that for a few days and think about it “as is” for right now.  Here are some pictures – I’d love to hear what you think about it.  The tentative title is, “This far you may come…”

sewing tiles together with wire

Here I am, sewing tiles together with wire. Good times. Right now I'm thinking, "Why, why, why did I come up with this idea? And why did I decide to act on it?"

translucent porcelain tile

Each tile only needed to be stitched together in 8 places... (there are 137 tiles total).

porcelain tile

"This far you may come..."

Herend porcelain tile

detail

Herend porcelain tile art

detail

Off to bed!  Good night!

13 comments on “ICS installation, round 1

  1. Jen says:

    They look really pretty! My question is (probably a dumb one, but oh well!) how do you get the wires through the tiles?

  2. Sara J says:

    Hi, Amy,
    I think it looks really cool. …good job! It is really fun to see the photos! Thanks for putting them up. Is it really cold there already? I took Brooke to the zoo today – it was really fun! The giraffe almost licked her face – it had a long almost black tongue that was really gross!
    Love you, Mom

    • amyuthus says:

      Thanks, Mom! It’s been pretty cold here. It rained for a few days too, so it was damp cold, which is worse.
      Brooke probably wouldn’t have cared if the giraffe licked her since Dublin licks her all the time!
      Love you too!

  3. Sara J says:

    It looks awesome, Amy! I can’t imagine how you stitched all those together. It would’ve driven me crazy. I like the up close pictures where you can see the details of your tiles. I think you did an A+++ job!!! All your hard work paid off.

  4. Tammy says:

    Hi Amy
    Great work! What is the size of each tile? And what is the size of the total project?
    Tammy

    • amyuthus says:

      Each tile is about 5 inches square – that should put the installation at 85″ h x w. I should measure it just to be sure, though! Thanks for reminding me.

  5. Laura L says:

    Your work is amazing, Amy! I wish you were a little closer to ND so we could all see it in person!

  6. Sarah says:

    This looks incredible, Amy! Beautiful work!

    • amyuthus says:

      Thank you, Sarah. & Thanks for keeping in touch! We’re (UMD ceramics) having a show in NYC next semester- are you still there? If so, maybe we could grab coffee or something.
      PS How do I subscribe to your blog? I clicked the orange triangle and a page full of gobbledygook computer code came up… ?

  7. […] I went to Istanbul I took some pictures of my installation hanging a different way.  [Click here to see the first version.  It opens in a new window.]  It’s a good thing I took them because when I went downstairs this morning Peter asked me, […]

Leave a Reply

