Review Today!

I just found out that my mid-semester Skype review will be at 2:45pm EST today (8:45pm my time).  Wish me luck!

This morning I had a nice conversation with Jona Gudvardardottir about my piece.  She mentioned a lot of things, but one in particular was that I need to decide whether or not to allow people to view it in the round.  While I do think the silhouettes that happen (see pic below) are pretty neat, I don’t think allowing people to walk behind this piece furthers my so-called “agenda,” if you will.  Light is a major component of the installation, and if I let people wander behind they’ll have an experience other than the one I’ve intended.  So, I need to figure out a non-obtrusive way to block off the open spaces on either side of the work.  Any ideas?

Jona also recommended I check out an Icelandic artist’s work – Ruri.  If you have time, you might want to take a look; some of it’s pretty interesting.  (My favs are “Moderation” and “Dedication.”)

5 comments on “Review Today!

  1. Sara J says:

    Good luck tonight! Can’t wait to hear all about it! Brooke says hi and blows you a kiss.

  2. kate says:

    GOOD LUCK AMY!!! i bet it’s gonna be great! ❤

  3. Jen says:

    I’ll be thinking of you at 1:45 my time! Have you come up with any ideas for blocking the sides? That’s a tough one! You almost just want them looking at it from the front, right? Not even the sides? Could you line up a bunch of small candles on the floor where you want the line for people to not cross to be? Hopefully they would realize to not step over them. If the candles were in dark candle holders the light might not be as visible and then wouldn’t distract from your art. Sorry, it’s my only idea!

  4. Betsy Batstone-Cunningham says:

    Amy,
    I went to Ruri studio in May! She is a very wonderful artist and her work so very interesting!

  5. Well holy crap on a stick. the art department is a-twitter about this installation. awesome!!!! I haven’t had time to look but I heard so much about it that today I just had to look! Crazy, of course, but amazing. who would do such a thing? Amy Uthus that’s who. Have you considered making it 3 dimensional, ie a chandelier?

Leave a Reply

