Hoover

The other day I was having a discussion with one of the Hungarian students here.  We were talking about slip trailers.

 This is a slip trailer.  You use them to put designs onto clay.  Below is a picture of some slip-decorated pottery.  You can see how the blue and white areas are raised.  This is where lines of slip were laid down on to the pot.  You can think of slip as basically being clay that’s sort of watered down until it’s a thick liquid, with a colorant added to it (in this case maybe zinc or tin for the white and cobalt or copper for the blue).  You fill one of these slip trailers with the liquidy colored clay and then squeeze it out in patterns onto the pottery.

Slip-decorated pottery I saw in Instanbul.

Anyway, we were talking about slip trailers and somehow I mentioned that in the US we sometimes use those blue baby booger suckers as cheap slip trailers.

Here is one of those.

Then, I found out that in Hungary you can buy a special vacuum attachment for doing this particular job.  Hence this post’s title.  Apparently they’re good not only for babies, but also for when you have bad sinus congestion.  Sucks it all right out!  At first I was a bit appalled.  But now… I’m not gonna lie, I kind of want one… could come in handy some day!

1st photo: http://t3.gstatic.com/ imagesq=tbn:ANd9GcQOJTGtImLvK8iCdjWfIe83K71b1GYveGLr0pzjym2_dKkJuGPnyA

3rd photo: http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRRMwzIxhXgC4dOQ51Wp1JOpvvCTWgK4mTV0p4gWj33o-2EnQ2QUA

4 comments on “Hoover

  1. Jackie says:

    Are you slip trailing any of your Hungarian work? Fun to skype with you – always nice to see your cute face! love, mom

    • amyuthus says:

      Nope, I’m not! Would be interesting to try though, since more layers would affect the translucency. Maybe I could start embedding secret code in there or something!

  2. Lauren says:

    hello. you did your hair! I like it! I can’t wait to see you!!!!! it looks like you have no room for a kitten to hide in there like in my dream but, I will be on the look out! Great new work! nice mold as well

    • amyuthus says:

      Thanks, I grew it myself! The mold and the hair.
      And- maybe you’re psychic, because there are some new kittens at the studio, and one of them tries really hard to jump on me every time I see her.
      I can’t wait to see you too! We’ll have to have a day-long tea party. After reviews. With tea that I bought for us in Istanbul.

Leave a Reply

