A Rude Awakening

Well, I’ve been back at work here in my MA studio for a little while now.  Last week, I had the brilliant idea to slip-cast some large panels and sagger fire them.  In the process, I found out just how much muscle mass I’ve lost over the past 7 months.  To be fair, I did have some major medical issues for most of the summer, so I’m cutting myself some slack.  However, last week I was made well aware of the fact that I need to go back to the gym, if for no other reason than to make it possible to do my studio work.  See, I have these big molds that I use:

plaster mold with yardstick

They didn’t use to be heavy.  And now they are.  Last spring, I could crank out 8 or more panels in a day – I was only limited by the amount of time it took the panels to set up (can’t take the slip-cast object out while it’s still wet and runny!).  My body was not the limitation.  Now it is.  I made 4 in one day and stopped because:

#1) I was exhausted,

and #2) I seriously thought I was going to injure myself.

It’s super disgusting to me.  I used to always be able to count on my body to do whatever I wanted it to.  I was in competitive sports starting with YBL (Youth Basketball League)  in 1st grade, I think, and going continuously through my 3rd year of undergrad, where I was an All-American in track & field as a sophomore.  Even after quitting track to focus on other things, I continued to maintain a fairly consistent level of fitness up until last summer.  I think it’s safe to say this is the most out of shape I’ve been in my entire life!  Maybe this is what it’s like to be an old person?  Needless to say, I will get back into the gym, beginning today, but I’m dreading it!  Which is why this post got written…

Here are some results from my sagger firing, unloaded today.  Half of it is still in the kiln.  I like the burnt-up board almost better than the ceramic piece.  What do you think?

sagger firing results - porcelain on left, burnt-up boards on right

2 comments on “A Rude Awakening

  1. Sara J says:

    It’ll just take some time to build up your strength! You did go through a lot this year, so don’t be too hard on yourself. It will all come back! I’ll be the same way after I have the baby. After being pregnant and on bedrest, it’ll take me a long time to get back “in shape”, if that ever happens! Come live in Wichita and we can workout together. Love, Sara

  2. Cindy Peterson says:

    You can do it, Amy. Be patient with yourself.

Leave a Reply

