KickStarter Project is Live!

Hi everyone!

Happy Wednesday to you all.  I’ve finished up my MFA (I think)… all my papers are signed, sealed and delivered to all of the right people, as far as I know.  Knock on wood!  Now I just need to clean out my studio, walk across the stage without crying, and then wait for my diploma to show up in the mail.  What a wonderful day that will be!

Until that day, and every day after, it’s on to bigger and better things.  🙂  I have two main projects on my plate this summer:

1) Glass Fiber Stone, a group show I was invited to be a part of, in Loveland, CO, and

2) An Artist-in-Residence position at Guldagergaard International Ceramics Research Center.

I’ve been working as much as I possibly can at the two jobs I have (workstudy for the Ceramics Dept., which ended yesterday), and catering for a lovely man named Greg.  However, it’s become quite clear to me that even with both of those jobs I’m not going to be able to cover the costs of these two career-boosting experiences.  So, after a good deal of thought, I’ve decided to start a KickStarter page.  I feel a little funny about doing it, but my projects are exactly what the site aims to help fund.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with KickStarter, it’s “a funding platform for creative projects.”  Anyone can start a page for their project.  What you do is this: you set a specific goal (mine is $1,067 – the cost of getting my piece and me to Loveland).  After setting your goal and publishing your page, you seek backers to pledge money toward that goal.  People can pledge any amount, starting at $1.  It’s important to note that it’s pledges, not donations.  If the goal isn’t met in the time allotted (my project has 29 days to succeed, beginning tonight!), none of the Backers who have pledged money are charged, and the project doesn’t receive any funding.  Backers are only charged if the project’s goal is totally met – meaning the project is strong enough to be completely backed.

If you’d like to check out my page, here’s a link: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/325571772/bring-1500-an-interactive-artwork-to-loveland-co.  I’d appreciate any help you’re willing to give, including non-pledge help like feedback on how to make the page stronger.  Thank you!

The project (titled 1500) will be comprised of 1,500 individual, handmade porcelain pieces like those shown below.  During the show, the public will be invited to take the pieces home with them.  As a result, the installation will constantly evolve as people interact with it.  Time lapse photography will be utilized, and my blog will be updated regularly with the changing images for the duration of the show.  This piece is an expansion of my thesis piece, Touch, which is partially based off my experiences in Istanbul at the Hagia Sophia, a 1,500 year-old structure.  You can read about Touch here and the Hagia Sophia here.

Amy Uthus Porcelain

Leave a Reply

