Front-row seats to a surprise concert, lasagna

Yesterday there was a random (to us) concert on Guldagergaard’s back lawn. I say it was random to us because most of us didn’t know what was happening. At about 2:00 I heard someone tuning a guitar as I worked in the studio. I brushed it off as a wandering music-maker. The Danes seem like a pretty happy bunch, so I thought maybe someone was just taking their guitar out for a Sunday stroll. The yard backs up to a park, so it didn’t seem like that much of a stretch, despite its close proximity. About five minutes later, I went into the kitchen and saw a bunch of old people sitting on the grass in lawn chairs and a little table where two women were selling coffee and cake. That seemed kind of strange.

Crowd on the lawn.

As it turns out, there’s a free concert at 2:30 on the first Sunday of each month. It just so happens that the concert is in Guldagergaard’s backyard (not the park). The organizers pull in different performers every time. I’m not sure of the name of the duet who played yesterday, but they were pretty good! They played a variety of songs, from Willie Nelson to John Denver to patriotic Danish classics and Simon and Garfunkel.

Because we live in the house, we got front row seats! I was really happy – I love live music, and this was a nice break in my day. I briefly felt a little guilty about sitting to watch the whole thing because everyone else eventually went back to their studios, but after asking myself, “how often am I going to get to see something like this?” I felt a lot better.

Here’s a shot of the Dynamic Danish Duo (as I’ve decided to name them), and two of my favorite characters in the crowd.

The Dynamic Danish Duo.

Great Beard.

Motorcycle Cowboy. He rode in, sat on his bike through most of the concert, then abruptly rode off into the sunset.

Click here to go to a short clip of the concert: hereherehereitis! (my facebook page)

Tonight was my night to cook again. I decided to try Kate Frazer-Rego‘s lasagna recipe. She assured me it would “bring marriage proposals.” Alas, there was none of that, but it did get gobbled up!

Before

After

Thanks for the recipe, Kate!

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Front-row seats to a surprise concert, lasagna

  1. Jackie Uthus says:

    The lasagna looks really nummy – share the recipe? I guess I’ll go find some chocolate something or other since it isn’t supper time yet! Missing you and love you, Amy!

Leave a Reply

