Big fat fishies

Merry Christmas!! I hope you all are having a wonderful holiday season.

I’m enjoying spending some time with my family. Today my dad treated my sister, brother-in-law, and me to an off-shore fishing trip. (We’re currently in Florida, which is a heckuva lot warmer than Iowa right now!) It was super fun! There were somewhere around 16ish people on the boat. I didn’t count. But that’s my best guess. At any rate, I have to brag a little bit about what awesome fisherpeople we are, because out of everyone on the boat, my family caught the three largest fish…

…sort of. My sister double-hooked a 24″ grouper with a little old guy in a green jacket, my dad double-hooked a 25″ one with the girl standing to his right, and he and I double-hooked one that was 25.5″. The captain, Chad, said it was the first time he’s ever seen three fish be double-hooked in one outing. I guess the groupers were greedy today. They must not have had lefse with their Christmas feast yesterday.

I don’t know if “double-hooked” is the correct term, which probably shows you precisely how awesome a fisherperson I truly am, but it was neat to catch so many big fish. Even with my dad working his reel, doing half the work, it was still really hard to drag that thing to the surface! Once it was near the surface, the boat workers scooped it out with a big net. They also cleaned everyone’s fish when we got back to the dock.

As the fish were being filleted, Little Green Jacket Man tried to con the Captain into giving him my sister’s share of their grouper in addition to his own. We squashed him down faster than a gasoline-soaked cat running through a campfire. We were already annoyed with LGJM because he butted his way smack dab into the middle of our family when we started catching fish. “There’s no fish on my side of the boat, mind if I squeeze in here?” His hook was in the water before he finished the sentence. Um, sure? We didn’t really care too much about that, but we draw the line at stealing our fillets.

On the way back, we saw a water tornado (cool!), a bald eagle, and we had a pair of dolphins following us, jumping the wake.

Here are some pictures. Click on them to open a nice photo viewer.

3 comments on “Big fat fishies

  1. eouthus says:

    Nice post! It sure was fun. I can’t wait to eat those little water piggies!

  2. Anonymous says:

    So the grouper was cooked to perfection by the grill chef and his tutor…and we all enjoyed the fruits, I mean fish, of the fisherpeoples’ efforts!

Leave a Reply

