Garden time!

Today I added to my little “garden” at the studio. Because I live in a largish apartment complex I can’t have a backyard garden. Hence the taking over of the studio railings. I’ve been looking all over for planters that can hang off round railings – most are designed for window ledges or rectangular deck railings. Today I found this set at Home Depot. They come with self-locking metal strips that you can bend around a railing of any shape (and almost any size… I had about 10″ extra on each of the attachment points). They are called “Fiskars hanging garden system,” and they were $19.98 per set of three baskets. I hung the baskets side by side so as to not block the sun, but they also interlock, so you have the option of hanging them vertically too.
I think they’re great. I’ve been sketching out contraptions to solve this very problem, and this design is head and shoulders above anything I’ve been dreaming up!
Here are some pics. I planted green beans, sweet peas, tomatoes (thanks for the plants, Nancy!), bell peppers, and cayenne peppers in these new planters. I had already planted strawberries and Brussels sprouts in my Topsy-turvy strawberry planter. The BS (ha!) are doing much better than the strawberries.

20130516-205718.jpg

Studio garden

20130516-205742.jpg

20130516-205755.jpg

Brussels sprouts are taking over the strawberry planter

20130516-205806.jpg

My one and only ripe strawberry so far!

One comment on “Garden time!

  1. Kelischek says:

    hurray for gardening!

Leave a Reply

