Junk Mail Threats

I got a funny piece of junk mail the other day in the form of (what was supposed to be) A Very Threatening Letter. It’s from Delta, telling me I’d better order some magazines, OR ELSE…
I highlighted my favorite parts.

20121204-163737.jpg

Advertisements

Further Reading

Here’s a list of a few of the many, many sources that are out there on the topic of ceramics.  Let me know if you see something I should add, please.  Titles marked with * are personal favorites.

BOOKS

General Clay/”Classics”

Syllabus for Beginning Pottery Ball, F. Carlton
Syllabus for Advanced Ceramics Ball, F. Carlton
Finding One’s Way With Clay Berensohn, Paulus
The Ceramic Glaze Handbook: Materials Techniques Formulas Burleson, Mark
Shards Clark, Garth
Ceramic Formulas: the Complete Compendium; a guide to clay, glaze, enamel, glass, and their colors Conrad, John W.
Advanced Ceramic Manual: Technical Data for the Studio Potter Conrad, John W.
Studio Ceramics Today Cooper, Emmanuel, Ed.
Fundamentals of Clay Modeling Fiore, R.R.
The Potter’s Dictionary of Materials and Techniques Hamer, Frank and Janet
The Ceramic Spectrum; A Simplified Approach to Glaze and Color Development Hopper, Robin
Studio Ceramics Lane, Peter
A Potter’s Book Leach, Bernard
How to do Ceramics Lion, Heller H.
Ceramics: a Potter’s Handbook Nelson, Glenn C. and Burkett, Richard
Out of the Earth and Into the Fire Obstler, Mimi
Ceramics Rawson, Philip
Clay and Glazes for the Potter Rhodes, Daniel
Centering in Pottery, Poetry, and the Person Richards, M.C.
An Illustrated Dictionary of Ceramics Savage, George and Newman, Harold
*Hands in Clay Speight, Charlotte F. and Toki, John
Make it in Clay: a beginner’s guide to ceramics Speight, Charlotte F. and Toki, John
Basic Ceramics Steinzor, Benjamin
The Handbook for Clay Artists Trub, Alexandra B.

Decoration

361 Full-Color Allover Patterns Grafton, Carol Belanger
Decorative Flower and Leaf Designs Hofmann, Richard
The Grammar of Ornament Jones, Owen
Painted Clay: Graphic Arts and the Ceramics Surface Scott, Paul
The Clay Canvas: Creative Painting on Functional Ceramics Wittig, Irene

Electric Kilns/Firing

Exploring Electric Kiln Techniques American Ceramic Society, pubs.
Electric Kiln Construction for Potters Fournier, Robert
Electric Kiln Ceramics Riegger, Hal
Electric Kiln Ceramics, a guide to clay and glazes Zakin, Richard

Kilns

Alternative Kilns Gregory, Ian
Kiln Building Gregory, Ian
The Kiln Book: Materials, Specifications, and Construction Olsen, Frederick L.
Kilns: Design, Construction, and Operation Rhodes, Daniel
Alternative Kilns & Firing Techniques Watkins, James C. and Wandless, Paul Andrew

Glazing & Firing Techniques

Barrel, Pit, and Saggar Firing American Ceramic Society, pubs.
Woodfiring: Journeys and Techniques American Ceramic Society, pubs.
Underglaze Decoration Bellaire, Marc
Crystalline Glazes Creber, Diane
Stoneware Glazes: a systematic approach Currie, Ian
China Painting Workstation Davies, Hannah
Sawdust Firing Hessenberg, Karin
The Techniques of China Painting Jorgensen, Gunhild
The Art of Firing Lou, Nils
A Potter’s Guide to Raw Glazing and Oil Firing Parks, Dennis
Gas Kiln Firing Ritchie, Ralph W.
Ash Glazes Rogers, Phil
Single Firing: the Pros and Cons Tristram, Fran
Soda Glazing Tudball, Ruthanne

Porcelain

European Porcelain Bacci, Mina
The Book of Pottery and Porcelain, Vol. I Cox, Warren E.
Chinese Porcelain du Boulay, Anthony
American Porcelain: New Expressions in an Ancient Art Herman, Llyod E.
New Orleans Porcelain Knapp Press
Contemporary Studio Porcelain Lane, Peter
Revolutionary Ceramics: Soviet Porcelain 1917-1927 Lobanov-Rostovsky, Nina

Raku

Raku: A Practical Approach Branfman, Steve
Raku Pottery: a 400-Year Old Technique Adapted for the Contemporary Potter Piepenburg, Robert

How-to (Ceramic Related)

Paper Clay Gault, Rosette
Architectural Ceramics for the Studio Potter: designing, building, installing King, Peter
*The Essential Guide to Mold Making and Slip Casting Martin, Andrew
Keeping Clay Work Safe and Legal Rossol, Monona
Large-Scale Ceramics Robison, Jim
Handbuilt Tableware Triplett, Kathy

Pottery (all sorts!)

Answers to Potters’ Questions II Butler, Ruth C., Ed.
Using the Potter’s Wheel Campbell, Donald
Potter’s Wheel Projects Ceramics Monthly handbook
Creative Pottery: A Step-by-Step Guide and Showcase Coakes, Michelle
The Potter’s Project Book Cosentino, Peter
Pottery Workshop Counts, Charles
The Potter’s Alternative Davis, Harry
The Best of Pottery Fairbanks, Jonathan, and Fina, Angela
Pottery in the Making: Ceramic Traditions Freestone, Ian, and Gaimster, David, Eds.
Pottery Haslam, Malcolm
The Complete Book of Pottery Making Kenny, John B.
American Art Pottery from the collection of Everson Museum of Art Perry, Barbara A.
Pottery: a basic manual Pucci, Cora
Pottery Form Rhodes, Daniel
Throwing on the Potter’s Wheel Sellers, Thomas
How to Make Pottery & Other Ceramic Ware Turoff, Muriel P.
Pottery Step by Step Trevor, Henry
Intro to Pottery: a Step by Step Project Book Wallner, Linde
The Practical Potter: a Step-by-Step Handbook Warshaw, Josie
Pottery on the Wheel Woody, Elsbeth S.

How-to (art related, but not specific to ceramics)

The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity Cameron, Julia
Better Resumes for Sales and Marketing Personnel Lewis, Adele
Confrontational Clay: The Artist as Social Critic Schwartz, Judith S.
Criticizing Art: understanding the contemporary Barrett, Terry
The Bulfinch Pocket Dictionary of Art Terms Diamond, David, Ed.
The Encyclopedia of Bad Taste Stern, Jane and Michael
*How to Survive and Prosper as an Artist Michels, Caroll
Money for Visual Artists Oxenhorn, Douglas
Performance Studies: the interpretation of aesthetic texts Pelias, Ronald
Photographing Your Artwork Hart, Russell
The Adams Resume Almanac Adams, Robert, Ed.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art Barnet, Sylvan
Stayin’ Alive: Survival Tactics for the Visual Artist Hopper, Robin
A Whack on the Side of the Head: How you can be more creative van Oech, Roger

——–

MAGAZINES (COUNTRY OF ORIGIN)

*Ceramic Review http://www.ceramicreview.com/ (UK)

Ceramics Monthly http://ceramicartsdaily.org/ceramics-monthly/ (USA)

Ceramics Technical http://ceramicart.com.au/ (Australia)

Ceramics Art & Perception http://ceramicart.com.au/ (Australia)

Pottery Making Illustrated http://ceramicartsdaily.org/pottery-making-illustrated/ (USA)

Clay Times http://www.claytimes.com/ (USA)

American Ceramics Magazine http://www.amceram.org/home.html (USA)

Journal of Turkish Ceramics Federation http://www.turkishceramics.com/en/journal-of-turkish-ceramics-federation (Turkey)

New Ceramics http://www.new-ceramics.com/ (Germany)

Ceramics Today http://www.ceramicstoday.com/ (UK)

National Ceramics Quarterly (South Africa)

Ceramics Ireland http://www.ceramicsireland.org/publications-2/magazines-2 (Ireland)

Ceramics Now Magazine http://www.ceramicsnow.org/ (Romania)

*Sculpture http://www.sculpture.org/ (USA)

Studio Potter http://www.studiopotter.org/ (USA)

Ceramics in America http://www.upne.com/series/CIAS.html (USA)

——–

ONLINE

Organizations/Artist resources

*Alliance of Artist Communities http://www.artistcommunities.org/

*ResArtis http://www.resartis.org/en/

National Arts Marketing Project http://www.artsmarketing.org/

Art Axis http://artaxis.org/index.html

National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts http://nceca.net/

*accessCeramics (a contemporary ceramics image resource) http://accessceramics.org/

Random helpful stuff

Temperature Equivalent Chart for Orton Cones (in Fahrenheit) http://www.ortonceramic.com/resources/reference/pdf/wall_chart_degreeF.pdf