Yogurt (for me this time, not my casting slip!)

So, I bought a yogurt maker a couple of months ago and I love it.  One of the reasons I bought it was so that I could make non-lowfat/non-fat-free yogurt (would that be called “full-fat”?) with no added sugar, which is impossible to find in a grocery store unless one wishes to part with an arm or a leg.  And even then it can be difficult.  I also bought it because yogurt is a quick, easy, and tasty snack to have on busy studio days.  So far, I’ve been making my batches with whole milk or part whole milk and part half & half.  However, this thesis business has gotten me feeling a little skinny, so today I decided to go all out and make it with straight half & half, in addition to adding another cup of powdered milk.

My little yogurt maker. It makes up to 2 quarts at a time.

Half & half and powered milk concoction cooling after being brought to a boil. When the gauge gets into the green range, I'll add the culture (starter) and vanilla extract, then pour all of it into the incubator.

By my calculations, this yogurt will have (in one cup):

457 calories, 18 grams of protein, and 25 grams of sugar (all from the milk; no added sugar).

In comparison, Cabot Greek Vanilla Bean yogurt has:

220 calories, 18 grams of protein, and 32 grams sugar in a one-cup serving.

I’m pretty excited to see what it tastes like.  I think it’ll be really thick and delicious! I’m going to add some vanilla extract before putting it in the maker to incubate.  Tomorrow morning I’ll open it up, scoop the yogurt into a cloth bag, and hang the whole thing up to drain out the whey (making it even thicker and turning it into Greek yogurt).   I’m tempted to try making some with whipping cream next.  Yum!

Update: Here’s a picture of it hanging up to strain.

2 comments on “Yogurt (for me this time, not my casting slip!)

  1. oh, you should let me know what the half and half yogurt is like. i’ve only been making fat free yogurt (Abbie Powers style). i think the half and half version might be a great substitute for sour cream or something like that.

Leave a Reply

